Computational Learning and Memory Group Welcome Trust Investigator Award

home | members | publications | events | teaching | vacancies | directions

Máté Lengyel Máté Lengyel is a reader (equiv. US associate professor) in computational neuroscience at the Department of Engineering, University of Cambridge. Previously, he studied biology for his MSc and neurobiology for his PhD at Eötvös University, Budapest, while working in the computational neuroscience lab of Péter Érdi. He was then a postdoc with Peter Dayan at the Gatsby Computational Neuroscience Unit, UCL, followed by a visiting research fellowship at the Collegium Budapest Institute for Advanced Study. He studies learning and memory from computational, algorithmic/representational and neurobiological viewpoints. He also maintains an active interest in the possible computational functions of neural oscillations, particularly those present in the hippocampus and neocortex.

Sina Tootoonian Sina Tootoonian joined the group as a postdoc in 2012. He did his PhD on data analysis and modeling of the locust olfactory system in the lab of Gilles Laurent at Caltech and at the MPI for Brain Research in Frankfurt, Germany. He is interested in normative models of olfactory processing.

Guillaume Hennequin Guillaume Hennequin joined the group as a postdoc in 2012 on a fellowship from the Swiss National Science Foundation. He holds a PhD in computational neuroscience from the EPFL where he studied in the lab of Wulfram Gerstner. Guillaume is interested in the dynamics of balanced cortical circuits, and how these support complex computations. He also maintains an active interest in synaptic plasticity. From January 2016, Guillaume will be an independent PI (University Lecturer) in CBL.

David Barrett David Barrett joined the group as a postdoc in 2014. He obtained his Ph.D. in Computational Neuroscience and Machine Learning from the Gatsby Unit at UCL (supervised by Peter Latham and Peter Dayan). Before coming to Cambridge, he held a joint-research position at the École Normale Supérieure, Paris and the Champalimaud Centre for the Unknown, Lisbon. His work is at the interface of neural network theory, neural computation and disease. In particular, he is interested in the impact of neuron death on optimal computation and learning in balanced networks.

Daniel McNamee joined the group as a postdoc in 2015 and is co-supervised by Daniel Wolpert. He received a PhD in Computation and Neural Systems from the California Institute of Technology. He studies the neural and computational principles by which people develop internal representations of their environment.

Dylan Festa Dylan Festa joined the group as a PhD student in 2012 after having obtained a Masters in Physics at the University of Pisa and worked as an Erasmus Scholar in Fred Wolf's Theoretical Neuroscience group at the Max Planck Institute in Göttingen.

Yan Wu Yan Wu joined the group as a PhD student in 2012. He has obtained an MSc at the University of Waterloo (with Chris Eliasmith and Matthijs van der Meer) and BEng in Software Engineering at Wuhan University (with Hengjin Cai). He is interested in learning and memory.

David Zoltowski joined the group as an MPhil student on a Churchill Scholarship in 2015.


Johannes Friedrich, postdoc (2013-2015)
while in the group, worked on neural network implementations of model-based reinforcement learning
currently postdoc at Columbia with John Cunningham and Liam Paninski

Alexander Greaves Tunnell, MPhil (2014-2015)
while in the group, worked on neural network models of probabilistic inference
currently PhD student at the University of Washington.

Neil Houlsby, MEng, PhD (co-supervised with Zoubin Ghahramani) (2009-2014)
while in the group, worked on active learning and behavioural data analysis
currently researcher at Google Zurich

Ferenc Huszár, MSc (2007-2009)
while in the group, worked on active learning and behavioural data analysis
currently data scientist at Balderton Capital

Gergő Orbán, MSc, PhD (1998-2008), postdoc (Marie Curie Intra-European Fellow) (2010-2012)
while in the group, worked on models of hippocampal theta-gamma oscillations (MSc), visual statistical learning in humans (PhD), and a sampling-based theory of cortical responses (postdoc)
currently group leader at Wigner Institute, Budapest, on a Momentum grant from the Hungarian Academy of Sciences

Jean-Pascal Pfister, postdoc (2008-2010)
while in the group, worked on normative models of short-term synaptic plasticity
currently SNF Professor at the Institute of Neuroinformatics, University of Zurich and ETH Zurich

Cristina Savin, postdoc (2010-2013)
while in the group, worked on normative models of autoassociative memory
currently independent postdoc as an ISTFELLOW at IST Austria

DJ Strouse, MPhil (Churchill Scholar) (2011-2012)
while in the group, worked on statistical descriptive models of dendritic processing
currently PhD student at Princeton

Ryutaro Tanno, MPhil (2014-2015)
while in the group, worked on normative models of recognition memory
currently PhD student at UCL

Balázs Ujfalussy, postdoc (2011-2013)
while in the group, worked on normative models of dendritic processing
currently postdoc at the Institute of Experimental Medicine, Budapest with Judit Makara


Richard Aslin, Dept Brain and Cognitive Sciences, Center for Visual Science, U Rochester
human psychophysics

Tiago Branco, MRC Laboratory for Molecular Biology
dendritic processing

Peter Dayan, Gatsby Computational Neuroscience Unit, UCL
computational theory

József Fiser, Dept Cognitive Science, Central European University
human psychophysics, in vivo ferret multiunit electriophysiology

Rik Henson, MRC Cognition and Brain Unit, Cambridge
human recognition memory

Judit Makara, Lab of Neuronal Signaling, Inst Experimental Medicine, Hun Acad Sci
in vitro dendritic processing

Ole Paulsen, Dept Physiology, Development and Neuroscience, U Cambridge
in vitro rat and mouse hippocampal and cortical circuit electrophysiology

Daniel Wolpert, Dept Engineering, U Cambridge
human psychophsyics, motor control
This site is powered by FoswikiCopyright © by the contributing authors. All material on this collaboration platform is the property of the contributing authors.
Ideas, requests, problems regarding Foswiki? Send feedback